What is the New Covenant?

Q: What is the New Covenant, and why should I keep it?

A: The Bible contains two types of laws: The Law of Moses and the Law of Christ (1Co 9:20-21). The Law of Moses refers to what the Israelites observed in the Old Testament. The Law of Christ means the teachings given by Jesus Christ in the New Testament. These laws are also called the Old Covenant and the New Covenant, respectively. 

Through the prophet Jeremiah, God said He would establish the New Covenant in the future. 

“‘The days are coming,’ declares the Lord, ‘when I will make a new covenant with the people of Israel and with the people of Judah.’”

In the New Testament, the laws and ways of the Old Covenant (Old Testament) changed into the laws and ways of the New Covenant (Heb 8:13). And Jesus showed us how to properly keep the New Covenant (Jn 13:15). In fact, He put His most important teaching at the core of it. 

“Jesus said to them, ‘Very truly I tell you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise them up at the last day.’”

“Then came the day of Unleavened Bread on which the Passover lamb had to be sacrificed. Jesus sent Peter and John saying, ‘Go and make preparations for us to eat the Passover.’ ...And he took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them, saying, ‘This is my body given for you; do this in remembrance of me.’ In the same way, after the supper he took the cup, saying, ‘This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which is poured out for you.’”

Why should I keep the New Covenant?

When we celebrate the New Covenant Passover, we receive Jesus Christ’s flesh and blood and gain eternal life. This is why we must keep the New Covenant. And 2,000 years ago, the disciples felt the same way. 

“Simon Peter answered him, ‘Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. We have come to believe and know that you are the Holy One of God.’”

The New Covenant does not only include the Passover, it also includes everything else Jesus taught, including observing the rest of the annual Feasts of God (Jn 7; Ac 2) the weekly Sabbath (Lk 4:16), and the regulation of the women’s veil. When we follow the commands of the New Covenant, we can enter into eternal life (Mt 19:17). 

Popular Topics

Have Any Questions?